top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Harvey

5 October Book Releases I'm Excited For


October is here and with it, some new releases that have me excited. After spending a while scrolling through pages of upcoming releases for this month, these are the five books that I'm excited to read soon.


The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys - October 1st

 

Young Adult, Historical Fiction


From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, extraordinary portrait of love, silence, and secrets under a Spanish dictatorship.


This one has me excited for two reasons. The first being the plot sounds really interesting, and the second is that I recently finished reading Salt to the Sea by this author and I loved it, so I'm definitely excited to pick this one up.







Scars Like Wings by Erin Stewart - October 1st

 

Young Adult, Contemporary

Relatable, heartbreaking, and real, this is a story of resilience--the perfect novel for readers of powerful contemporary fiction like Girl in Pieces and Every Last Word.

Before, I was a million things. Now I'm only one. The Burned Girl.


Books that focus on mental and physical illness have been a favourite of mine for a long time.

In my own writing, I tend to explore these themes a lot, and so when I read the description of this book, I was instantly pulled in and knew that I had to read it.






The Library of Lost Things by Laura Taylor Namey - October 8th

 

Young Adult, Romance


From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother’s hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary.


Books about books, or about bookish characters hold a certain appeal for me. Couple that with my love of cute YA reads and this one had me intrigued from the first glimpse of the cover and hooked by the title.







The Giver of Stars by JoJo Moyes - October 8th

 

Historical Fiction

Set in Depression-era America, a breathtaking story of five extraordinary women and their unforgettable journey through the mountains of Kentucky and beyond, from the author of Me Before You and The Peacock Emporium


Much like the book above, this one pulled me in for it's literature related themes, but beyond that. I'm a huge fan of historical books, both fiction and non-fiction.

This novel being based on true events, is appealing to me, and will definitely be one I pick up.







Saving Everest by Sky Chase - October 22nd

 

Young Adult, Romance


From the outside, Everest has it all, but there’s only one person who can see him for who he truly is . . . and it changes his life forever.


Pulling on themes of mental health and blending it with a romantic plot, gets me everytime.

This novel sounds as if it'll be exactly my kind of thing and I have high hopes for it.











 

What books releasing this month have you excited? Leave a comment and let me know.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page