top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Harvey

August Reading Wrap Up


Hi all,

August is over and it felt like it flew by. The first week seemed to be dragging by, and then the next thing I knew, it was the 31st and time for me to write up my wrap up post.

Reading went very well again this month, I took part in a few different readathons as well as hosting one, which helped to boost my numbers and keep my motivated.

I read some really great books this month, as well as a few that I wasn't so fond of.

So, here's what I read during August.



+ The Zahir by Paulo Coelho.

+ The Phantom Flotilla by Peter Shankland.

+ Dry by Neal and Jarrod Shusterman.

+ Selected Poems By Robert Bridges.

+ Beastly by Alex Flinn.

+ Capricornia by Xavier Herbert.

+ The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers.

+ The Rivered Earth by Vikram Seth.

+ Mother Knows Best by Serena Valentino.

+ Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri.

+ Normal People by Sally Rooney.

+ Antarctica: Voices From the Silent Continent by Richard Adams.

+ Kents Poetry and Prose by John Keats.

+ The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith.

+ Vessels by Daniel Raeburn.

+ The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald.

+ The Examined Life by Stephen Grosz.

+ Last Poems by A.E Housman.

+ The Solitary Summer by Elizabeth Von Arnim.

+ The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.

+ The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro.

+ Not Working by Lisa Owens.

+ Assurances by J.O. Morgan.

+ Lanterns Across the Snow by Susan Hill.

+ The Plague by Albert Camus.

+ Selected Poems by John Clare.

+ The Periodic Table by Primo Levi.

+ Falling Leaves by Adeline Yen Mah.

+ The Singing Cupboard by Dana Faralla.

+ Poetry and Prose by Robert Browning.

+ The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams.

+ Below the Convergence by Alan Gurney.

+ The Solitary Song by William Wordsworth.

+ The Collected Poems of James Elroy Flecker by James Elroy Flecker.

+ Addition by Toni Jordan.

+ IQ84 Book 2 by Haruki Murakami



+ Heavy Vinyl Vol. 1 by Carly Usdin & Nina Vakueva.

+ I Moved to Los Angeles to Work in Animation by Natalie Nourigat.

+ A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer.



+ Return to Me by Paul Yoon (Audiobook).

+ Stitching a Life by Mary Helen Fein.

+ Lamplighter by Jackie Kay



+ Matilda by Roald Dahl.



+ Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie


In total I read 43 books in August, which I'm thrilled with.


I definitely leaned towards physical reads, which has left a large gap on my shelf, and I'm now on a book buying ban until January, with the hopes that I'll finally read some of the stuff that's been up there for years.


I've signed up for a few more readathons in September, so I'm hoping to get at least 25 books finished.


Thanks for reading, and if you liked this post, please consider subscribing for more bookish content, and sharing with your bookish friends.

You can also follow me on my social media. I'm most active in Instagram.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page