top of page
  • Writer's pictureHannah Harvey

September 2019 - Reading Wrap-Up


There's something about autumn. The darker evenings, cooler air and rainy days.

The appeal to stay inside, wrapped up in a cosy blanket with a large cup of coffee and a good book is too enticing to turn down.

Autumn has always been a good time for me when it comes to reading books. Adding the above pulls to the fact that we're getting close to the end of the year and with that, my yearly reading goal (which, crazily, I hit this month) and you've got me reading all of the time.

September was a great month for me. I read a decently ecclective mix of books, with both physical books and audiobooks being my focus this month. In fact, I'm fairly certain I didn't finish a single ebook in September. Instead, I found myself spending hours playing Minecraft while listening to audiobooks, or curling up on the sofa flicking through the pages of some good library books or something from my shelf, and in total, I read thirty two books in September, after I gave myself the challenge of reading an average of a book a day.

This is what I read.


1. Listen to Your Heart by Kasie West (Audiobook)

2. The Wheel of Surya by Jamila Gavin (Physical Book)

3. Prisoner B-3087 by Alan Gratz (Audiobook)

4. Before He Kills by Blake Pierce (Audiobook)

5. How Starbucks Saved My Life by Michael Gates Gill (Audiobook)

6. Resistance by Jennifer A. Nielsen (Audiobook)

7. A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielson (Audiobook)

8. We'll Always Have Paris by Rad Bradbury (Audiobook)

9. Out of Auschwitz: The Untold Story by Stanley Goleniewski (Audiobook)

10. Hitler Youth: Growing Up in Hitler's Shadow by Susan Campbell Bartoletti (Audiobook)



11. Mansfield Park by Jane Austen (Physical Book)

12. On The Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Audiobook)

13. The Last September by Elizabeth Gowen (Physical Book)

14. Projekt 1065: A Novel of World War II by Alan Gratz (Audiobook)

15. Calm Before Coffee by John Munro (Physical Book)

16. Auschwitz Lullaby by Mario Escobar (Audiobook)

17. Farmer Boy by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Audiobook)

18. Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Audiobook)

19. The End of the World: And Otehr Catastrophes by Mike Ashley (Physical Book)

20. The Wild Air by Rebecca Mascull (Physical Book)



21. Missing by Ann-Marie Richards (Audiobook)

22. I Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb (Audiobook)

23. The Girl Who Fell From The Sky by Heidi W. Durrow (Audiobook)

24. Every Note Played by Lisa Genova (Audiobook)



25. Looking Glass by Andrew Mayne (Physical Book)

26. Youth by J.M Coetzee (Physical Book)

27. Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Audiobook)

28. The Pharmacist of Auschwitz by Patricia Posner (Audiobook)

29. Henrietta's War by Joyce Dennys (Physical Book)

30. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Physical Book)

31. The Lost City of Z by David Grann (Physical Book)

32. The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray


If you want to check out all of my ratings and the others books I've read this year, you can see that over on my Goodreads 2019 challenge page.


Writing up this post and seeing just how many audiobooks I got through in September, makes me think I spent a little bit too much time playing Minecraft. Though, I do listen at other times too.

However, looking ahead, I'd like to try and fit some more physical books into my reading list for October, because I have a lot of books on my shelves that I've been meaning to read for years!


Let me know what you've been reading this month, and if you've read any of these books, which were your favourites?










6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page